Wapakoneta gets 12 players on all-district teams


From staff reports

The Wapakoneta Redskins had 12 players selected to the Division III All-Northwest District football teams for the 2013 season.

The all-district teams for all divisions were released Thursday.

Wapak had three first-team selections, senior offensive lineman Kyle Gonterman, senior running back Zach Schmerge and junior defensive end Thomas Schoenlein.

Gonterman was named the Western Buckeye League’s Offensive Lineman of the Year earlier this month. He helped lead the Redskins to a school-record 39.4 points per game in 2013.

Schmerge was the WBL’s Offensive Back of the Year, leading the league in rushing yards.

Schoenlein had 20 tackles for loss and eight sacks this season.

Appearing on the district’s second-team offense for Wapakoneta were senior offensive lineman Wyatt Harrison and senior kicker Bailey Hinegardner.

Harrison was a first-team All-WBL guard, while Hinegardner was the league’s Kicking Specialist of the Year.

Second-team all-district defensive selections for the Redskins included senior linebacker Isaac Kirby and junior defensive back Kodi Morgan.

Kirby was a WBL first-teamer, while Morgan was a second-team choice in the league.

Earning honorable mention in the Northwest District for Wapak were senior defensive lineman Casey Stauffer, junior offensive lineman Blake Bfenning, junior offensive lineman Wil Rankin, junior running back Keaton Metz and junior defensive back Quinn Lotridge.

Twenty schools in the Northwest District were classified as Division III for the 2013 season.

With 12 total selections, Wapakoneta had the second-most in the district, trailing only Toledo Central Catholic’s 14.

Central Catholic, the Associated Press poll champion for Division III, is set to play in the Region 8 championship tonight.

St. Marys senior defensive back Jared Knous was a first-team all-district selection Thursday.

Kenton senior Noah Furbush was named the defensive player of the year in Division IV after having helped guide the Wildcats to a WBL regular season championship and a No. 1 ranking the Associated Press poll for Division IV.

Coldwater junior quarterback Brody Hoying was named the offensive player of the year in Division V.

The Midwest Athletic Conference nearly swept the Division VII individual awards, as St. John’s senior running back Tyler Jettinghoff was the offensive player of the year, Marion Local senior linebacker Jacob Kunkler was the defensive player of the year and Marion Local’s Tim Goodwin was the coach of the year.

All-Northwest District football teams

First team
OFFENSE: Ends_Jeremiah Braswell, Tol. Central Cath., 6-0, 180, jr.; Trey Guilliam, Defiance, 5-11, 180, sr.; Derek Gray, Clyde, 5-9, 160, sr. Tight end_Zach Fielder, Napoleon, 6-23, 221, sr. Linemen_Ramone Miles, Tol. Central Cath., 6-5, 270, jr.; Isiah Moore, Tiffin Columbian, 6-4, 305, sr.; Kyle Gonterman, Wapakoneta, 6-2, 240, sr.; Jacob Yaratch, Sandusky Perkins, 6-1, 250, jr.; Konner Garcia, Clyde, 6-0, 225, sr. Backs_Ryan Lynch, Tiffin Columbian, 5-10, 185, sr.; Zach Schmerge, Wapakoneta, 6-1, 230, sr.; Breck Turner, Norwalk, 6-1, 190, jr. Quarterback_DeShone Kizer, Tol. Central Cath., 6-5, 220, sr. Kicker_Grant Hull, Norwalk, 6-0, 185, sr.

DEFENSE: Linemen_J’Quan Fisher, Tol. Central Cath., 6-1, 260, jr.; Chance Weitz, Elida, 6-3, 265, sr.; Thomas Schoenlein, Wapakoneta, 6-3, 245, jr.; Kyle Lewis, Sandusky Perkins, 6-4, 215, sr. Linebackers_Chris Green, Tol. Central Cath., 6-1, 220, jr.; Bryant Schlade, Napoleon, 6-1, 200, sr.; Kade Long, Clyde, 6-1, 220, jr.; Jared Cook, Norwalk, 6-0, 185, jr. Backs_Derich Weiland, Tol. Central Cath., 5-10, 180, sr.; Jared Knous, St. Marys Memorial, 5-9, 155, sr.; Dale Irby, Sandusky Perkins, 6-3, 180, sr.; Matt Davidson, Norwalk, 5-11, 170, jr. Punter_Griffin Rinner, Norwalk, 5-9, 165, fresh.
Offensive player of the year: DeShone Kizer, Tol. Central Cath..
Defensive player of the year: Dale Irby, Sandusky Perkins.
Lineman of the year: Isiah Moore, Tiffin Columbian.
Coach of the year: Jason Ziegler, Sandusky Perkins.

Second team
OFFENSE: Ends_Anthony Amison, Tol. Rogers, 6-2, 170, sr.; Clark Etzler, Elida, 6-0, 175, jr.; Joseph Hinckley, Norwalk, 6-0, 170, sr.; Braelen Bader, Celina, 5-10, 175, sr. Linemen_Christian Ward, Tol. Central Cath., 6-0, 290, jr.; Seth Gerken, Napoleon, 6-5, 240, jr.; Wyatt Harrison, Wapakoneta, 6-1, 230, sr.; Dylan Hermes, Sandusky Perkins, 5-11, 225, sr.; Larry Case, Norwalk, 6-1, 250, sr. Backs_Tre’Von Wade, Tol. Central Cath., 5-10, 170, soph.; Kalvin Gordon, Mansfield Madison, 5-11, 190, sr.; Damien Coburn, Clyde, 5-11, 200, sr. Quarterbacks_Will Batt, Defiance, 6-2, 195, sr.; Jordan Johnson, Norwalk, 6-0, 165, sr. Kicker_Bailey Hinegardner, Wapakoneta, 5-10, 170, sr.

DEFENSE: Linemen_Codey Chance, Tiffin Columbian, 5-11, 295, sr.; Spencer Batt, Defiance, 6-1, 180, sr.; Adam Green, Celina, 5-10, 200, sr.; A.J. Scott, Norwalk, 5-11, 225, sr. Linebackers_Paul Moses, Tol. Central Cath., 6-0, 220, sr.; Isaac Kirby, Wapakoneta, 5-9, 185, sr.; John Workman, Sandusky Perkins, 6-0, 220, sr. Backs_Tejuan James, Tol. Central Cath., 5-9, 160, sr.; Nate Hoyda, Tiffin Columbian, 5-11, 185, sr.; Kodi Morgan, Wapakoneta, 6-0, 165, jr.; Collin Rieman, Clyde, 6-1, 170, jr. Punter_Gabe Rodriguez, Defiance, 6-0, 260, sr.

Honorable Mention
Josh Spurgeon, Napoleon; Caleb Hoyng, Celina; Tyler Smith, Elida; Zach Temple, Lexington; Jarrod Wehinger, Elida; Colton Relyea, Defiance; Peyton Smith, Elida; Gio Masi, Lexington; Clayton Farrar, Clyde; Marcus Winters, Tol. Central Cath.; Marwan Allen-Marsenburg, Tol. Central Cath.; Ryan O’Hearn, Tol. Central Cath.; Casey Stauffer, Wapakoneta; Keon Rayford, Tol. Rogers; Zach Graven, Maumee; Christian Moran, Elida; Seanquez Frye, Elida; Louden Limon, Celina; Caleb Baldridge, Napoleon; Anson Lankenau, Napoleon; Cody Harris, Mansfield Madison; Zack Davis, Mansfield Madison; Trent Richwine, Lexington; Stephon Campbell, Tol. Central Cath.; Cahle Puhl, Maumee; Trey Brown, Tol. Scott; Day’Vonta Russell, Tol. Scott; Dakarai Adams-Williams, Tol. Scott; Ian O’Donnell, Tiffin Columbian; Derek Dryfuse, Tiffin Columbian; Austin Hancock, Defiance; Sam Walker, Napoleon; Wil Rankin, Wapakoneta; Blake Pfenning, Wapakoneta; Keaton Metz, Wapakoneta; Quinn Lotridge, Wapakoneta; Bradon Conn, Elida; Avery Sumpter, Elida; Cody Rollins, Lima Shawnee; Kyle Blust, Mansfield Madison; Tim Hoppe, Clyde; Josh Rohrbacher, Sandusky Perkins; Ja’Vion Moore, Sandusky; Garret MacFarland, Norwalk; Larry Case, Norwalk.