Wapak wins Scholastic Bowl

With seven wins in nine varsity matches, the Wapakoneta High School Scholastic Bowl team won the ninth annual Scholastic Bowl Tournament held Friday at The Ohio State University at Lima.

The Redskins team, under the direction of coach Adam Friemering, consists of Joey Jose, George Jose, Austin Klingler, Ross Kohler, Chris Schwartz and Cole Thrush.

Schwartz also earned recognition as being named to the WBL Scholastic Bowl All-Tournament Team, chosen by the coaches of the other teams.

The varsity runner-up team was from Elida High School. Elida varsity members include Josh Ballard, Greg Bennett, Ryan Bown, Zach Donley, Kaitlyn Morrisey and Chris Radebaugh. Shelby Cluts is their coach.

The junior varsity team from Shawnee High School swept all seven of its matches to win the JV division. The Shawnee High School team included Gary Adkins, Katelyn Cremonese, Tomi Ojo and Theo Paik. Their coach is Janice Drerup.

The junior varsity runner-up team was from Elida High School and included team members Steven Britt, Connor French, Logan Malone, Brennan Swick, Patrick VanMeter and Devin Smith. They are coached by Shelby Cluts.  

One member of each school was named to the WBL Scholastic Bowl All Tournament Team. The team members are Emma Boughan from Bath, Justin Hoffman from Celina, Anthony Pardo from Defiance, Radebaugh from Elida, Morgan Long from Kenton, Anneliese Paik from Shawnee, Anthony Tenney from St. Marys, Taylor Grooms from Van Wert and Schwartz from Wapakoneta.

More than 100 high school teams from throughout western Ohio went head-to-head in the round-robin scholastic bowl tournament.

The Ohio State University at Lima hosted the event and event was sponsored by the university and by Mercer Savings Bank.