Wapak coaches prepare for offseason camps


Wapakoneta football coaches are preparing for Frye’s Football Fundamentals Camp this summer, with hopes of growing the Wapakoneta football program from the ground up. 

Bo Frye, the son of varsity football coach Doug Frye and an assistant on the Wapakoneta squad, will be the camp director this year, and is excited about the camp this year, to build tradition at Wapakoneta.

“The biggest thing is to build the tradition and to get kids interested in football,” Bo Frye said of the fundamentals camp.

The camp has four age groups for athletes, the Elementary camp for incoming grades K–3, Midget camp for incoming grades 4–6, Jr. High camp for incoming grades 7 and 8 and Frosh camp, for incoming freshmen.

The cost is $30 per athlete, and it includes three days of instruction, a T-shirt and a snack each day. 

The Elementary camp will be held June 24–26 from 11 a.m. – 1 p.m.

The Midget camp will be held June 24–26 from 2 p.m. – 4 p.m.

The Jr. High camp will be held July 15–17 from 1 p.m. – 3 p.m.

The Frosh camp will be held July 15–17 from 9 a.m. – 11 a.m.

Bo Frye said this camp helps people of all ages get excited for the upcoming football season. He also said it is a great fundraiser for the program, and that for the cost of the camp, is a bargain for participants.

Bo Frye will be assisted by a lot of the assistant coaches, including his brother Koby Frye.

“It’s a family thing, but its also a work thing, when I’m there I’m treated like every other coach is treated, he puts extra pressure on me to better my career,” Bo Frye said.

Because of State Teacher's Retirement (STRS) policies, Doug Frye won’t be able to be involved with the camp this season. He has reduced his teaching role, and as a result will have to sit out for two months as head coach, starting June 1. That is why his two son’s will be heading up the camp this year.

Also assisting at the camp will be Brent Copeland, Troy Huelskamp, Joe Schnarre, Adam Friemering, Jack Miller, Tom Hunter, Bill Sammons, Shane Patterson, Jason Johnson, Derek Dunlap, Cody Martin, Joe Morgan, Todd Erb and Jeremy Dickey.

Sign up sheets are available at all Wapakoneta school locations.