RACING: Hendrick wins WRP Hewitt Classic

WAYNESFIELD — Fortville, Indiana’s Jonathan Hendrick used his outside front row starting spot to grab the Jack Hewitt Classic win for the second straight year Saturday night at Waynesfield raceway Park.
Hendrick held off Justin Grant, who earlier in the evening set the new track record for the Non-Wing Sprint Cars at Waynesfield with a time of 11.827 seconds.
Matt Westfall, the 2009 Jack Hewitt Classic winner, came home third.
Rod Henning, of Middletown, picked up the win in the Mini-Sprintafter getting by Nick Daugherty on lap 9 of the 15 lap affair. Daugherty would finish 2nd.
In the Compacts, Jeff Kimes, the defending track champion and current points leader, took the win with Tim Ashcraft claiming the runner-up spot.
Keith Ralston, of Lima, won the Thunder Stock A-main over Jeff Koz.
Wapakoneta’s Jerry Bowersock capturing the UMP Modifieds feature win in a race marred by six caution flags. Points leader Zach Schroeder grabbed the runner-up spot.
The final A Main of the evening featured Tough Trucks. Matt Twining picked up his first feature win of 2011 by taking advantage of his pole position starting spot and fending off challenges on three different restarts. Roy Miller would finish second.
WRP is back in action Saturday night with the 1st Annual Dick Spencer Memorial. The Non-Wing Sprints will race for a top prize of $1,500.

ALLENTOWN — For the second week in a row a University of Northwestern Ohio athletic motorsports driver won an A-Main at Limaland Motorsports Park.
In the UMP Modifieds, Racer team driver Kody Weisner made a late race pass on multi-time former champion Terry Hull to take the win. It marked the fourth feature win in Racer history and the second for Weisner, a winner last season in a stock car.
Weisner’s conquest is even more impressive as four of the most successful drivers in Modifieds started in front of him. Hull, point’s leader Todd Sherman, and former feature winners Jerry Bowersock and Casey Luedeke all had better starting positions.
The Elwer Fence Sprints 25-lap feature saw the season’s top performer Kyle Sauder win from his pole starting position in a battle with fellow front-row starter J.R. Stewart as the duo dominated the event.
The 15-lap Budweiser Thunderstocks feature produced a first-time season winner as Shawn Valenti controlled the 19-car field with a dominate flag-to-flag performance.
Josh Ulrich, runner-up a week ago, produced another impressive outing as he navigated to the front and eventually finished in the second position again.
Actions resumes Friday with the NRA Sprint Invaders vs. 305 Sprints, Modifieds and Stocks.
the Budweiser Thunderstocks.