RACING: Craig grabs win in Keysor Memorial

ALLENTOWN — The 10th annual Bobby Keysor Memorial may well have been the most competitive and thrilling race staged in the decade long history of the event.
The 15-lap feature saw three of Limaland Motorsports Park’s winningest Budweiser Thunderstock drivers of all-time and a pair of more recent hot shots battle through the final lap to decide the winner.
In the end, Barney Craig held off Kevin Gossard, current points leader Keith Ralston, Jeff Koz and Tony Anderson for the win.
“I’ve been looking to win this for several years as I was good friends with Bobby (Keysor)” Craig said. “I figured that if I was patient and didn’t overdrive the car, I would have a good chance to win. The surface was smooth with two good grooves.”
In the Elwer Fence Sprints 25-lap feature, week-one winner Kyle Sauder drove a dominant race and took a white-flag restart to storm to his second win in three weeks and ninth all-time at Limaland.
Caleb Helms and Mike Dussel tried to challenge Sauder early. But it was largely a Friday night stroll for Sauder until Dussel’s right rear tire blew out on lap 19.
On the restart, Helms tried to hang with Sauder up by the wall until he made contact with the barrier.
In the K & N UMP Modifieds, defending track champion Todd Sherman carved his way through the field for the win.
Sherman passed Zach Schroeder on the inside on lap 11. A caution on the white flag lap only delayed the inevitable as Sherman held off Anderson and Schroeder.
On Friday, the All-Stars Circuit of Champions makes its Ohio Sprint Speedweek appearance at Limaland. The UMP Modifieds will also compete.
Eldora Speedway
ROSSBURG — Saturday’s racing action at Eldora Speedway wasn’t limited to the racing surface — it was also a race against Mother Nature.
Cooperative measures between track officials and the race teams produced all of the preliminary heats and B-Mains in 45 minutes for the UMP Modifieds, Eldora Stock Cars and Circle Track Mini-Trucks before the rain hit.
Persons holding tickets and or pit passes from the Saturday, June 18 event may apply the value of those tickets to any remaining event on the 2011 Eldora Speedway schedule of events.
Next is the Ohio State Championship Tractor and Truck pull Saturday.
WAYNESFIELD — Waynesfield Raceway Park had a full slate of action Saturday night with four regular features and a make-up feature from a May 21 rainout.
Chris Hicks won the Tough Trucks make-up A-main, edging Mike Hicks for the win.
Mike Hicks then turned around and won the regular feature.
In the Non-Wing Sprints, Joss Moffat claimed the win after finishing just fourth in his heat race.
Ryan Broughton bested T.J. Heil in the Mini-Sprints A-main.
And in the Compacts it was Buck Purtee coming out on top followed by Ethan Pope.
WRP returns to action Saturday night with its six regular classes.