FOOTBALL: 'Skins earn district honors

The awards continue to pile in for the Wapakoneta Redskins varsity football team.

Four Redskins seniors were named to the Division II First Team when the All-Northwest District awards were announced Thursday evening.

“I am very proud of our young men who received All-District recognition,” Wapak varsity coach Doug Frye said. “They had an outstanding season for us. They were a major factor in our team’s 10-win season.”

On the offensive side of the ball, senior right guard Chris Schwartz was named the district co-offensive lineman of the year.

Senior running back Connor Pickens also earned first-team honors after rushing for 1,913 yards and 29 TDs on the season.

On the first-team defense, senior linebacker Brendan Wilson was awarded first-team honors. Wilson was credited with a team-high 83 tackles on the season.

Senior cornerback Kevin Kraft also made the first-team defense.

But the Redskins weren’t done raking in All-District awards.

Senior left tackle Trey Smith was named to the second-team offense.

Senior right end Cole Thrush and senior cornerback Connor Metz earned second-team honors on defense.

Senior right tackle Lance Vetter, senior center Nick Warner, and junior linebacker Brandon Miller were named honorable mention.