FOOTBALL: Schwartz named league's best lineman

Wapakoneta Redskins senior right guard Chris Schwartz was named the Offensive Lineman of the Year when the All-Western Buckeye League football teams were released on Friday.

Schwartz, who will attend the United States Military Academy in West Point, NY in the fall, earned the honor in a vote by the WBL coaches.

He was a key cog in an offense that led the league in rushing yards with 3,073 yards on the ground in the regular season.

Redskins senior running back Connor Pickens was second in the league in rushing yards with 1,611 during the regular season and an additional 302 yards in the playoffs (1,913 total).

Pickens was named to the All-WBL First Team offense, along with senior right tackle Trey Smith.
On the defensive side of the ball, senior cornerback Kevin Kraft, senior defensive end Cole Thrush, and senior linebacker Brendan Wilson were named all-league performers.

Senior center Nick Warner was tabbed second-team offense. Second-team defense honors went to senior cornerback Connor Metz, junior defensive end Nate Bracy and junior linebacker Brandon Miller.

Earning honorable mention were senior left tackle Lance Vetter, junior quarterback Kyle Gibson, senior defensive lineman Jim Knippen and senior linebacker Josh Hartman.

Elida Bulldogs senior kicker Nathan Jenkins was named the Kicking Specialist of the Year.

The Offensive Back of the Year went to Kenton Wildcats senior quarterback Maty Mauk. Kenton’s Brice Fackler earned Defensive Back of the Year honors. And Wildcats senior Isaac Jeffers was named Defensive Lineman of the Year.