FOOTBALL: Chiefs win JBL Super Bowl

The Wapakoneta Chiefs ended the season with a perfect 8-0 record and the coveted Junior Buckeye League Super Bowl championship trophy.

The Chiefs earned the right to be called champions by defeating the Upper Scioto Valley Rams, 34-22 Sunday at Harmon Field.

The Chiefs entered the contest with a 6-0 overall record and 38 points, while the Rams also sat at 6-0 but with 40 points.

The Chiefs conquered the Rams with a strong running game and a healthy passing attack.

They entered the contest by capturing the Scarlett Division with a 5-0 record, while the Rams bested the competition in the Heisman Division.

The Chiefs started their season with a 54-6 thumping of Allen East. They followed that contest with a 30-6 win against the Bobcats.

They then dispatched of the Indians, 34-12, before playing their toughest contest of the year. The Chiefs edged St. Charles 18-14.

After taking down the Rams, 26-8, the Chiefs dominated Waynesfield, 46-0.

Along with the Chiefs, the Wapakoneta Cherokees varsity squad also made the playoffs.

In the junior varsity class, the Wapak Warriors and the Wapak Chiefs made the playoffs.

Members of the team are Jace Copeland, Jordan Foster, Tannner Hurley, Tyler Jenkins, Collin Goulet, Jordan Moening, Wyatt Moyler, Jacob Place, Emmerson Presar, Gage Schenk,, Nick Schoonover, Nathan Shade, Ryan Thompson, Manny Vorhees, Joshua Wahl, Aaron Chambers, Brady Erb, Connor Foor, Riley Gibson, Braden Greve, Brenan Knueve, Devin McBride, Anthony Roach, Jeff Plaugher and Isaac Webb.

The Chiefs have been in the league for three years. The last two years the JV have won the Super Bowl. This year the varsity was victorious.